Think about problems.

I’m not so unique, the problems I experience are known to others. To be of value to other people, I think about problems. The problem may be immediate, I locked my keys in the car. Or the problem arrives second hand, as a story. Stories allow me to imagine other ways of being in the world. Since stories have resolutions, I tend to seek resolution when talking about problems. It feels good to have resolution. It’s good because the problem is “over”.

When I choose to stay with a problem, my understanding expands. Real life extends beyond the conventional story structure of beginning, middle, and end. Rather than thinking about what I know, I’m drawn to learn something new.

Leave a Reply

