THE RETURN

by Arthur Smid

I have your sleeping wish.
You have my settlement.
Like a cure, I dreamed the spade
My mother used in Spring.

I have for you to call
A spell for fantasy
Like a kiss, I dreamed the truth
My father told me why.

At home, I sat by a window.
The kettle whispers (come with us)

You give me waking arms.
I give your warm embrace.
In a car, we saw the way
Our parents used to be.

A house, I saw through the window.
The road whispers (come with us)

A tree and necklaces,
He passed against the glass.
I know he hears them asking,
Come with us,
Come with us,
Come with us.

My juice and watermill,
She passed hiding underneath.
I know she hears them asking,
Come with us,
Come with us,
Come with us.

I have your sleeping wish.
You have my settlement.
Like a cure, I dreamed the spade
My mother used in Spring.

Leave a Reply

