NINE LIVES PROGRESSION

by Arthur Smid

A Cro-Magnon you say,
“Once I had fallen snow
Lying in an open hole.
There’s nowhere I can go
To be accepted in.”

Knocking on darkened doors,
Looking for a cheap hotel,
After I got paranoid.

A man and wife you say,
“Once we have a home
We’ll go from room to room
Filled with you, I’m okay.
About to burst, it’ll hurt.”

School’s in session from the womb,
Waiting to match words with you,
I came back in the room.

An alien you say,
“To be accepted in
My heart opens empty hands
All up and down the street
Looking for a parking place.”

I try to explain myself,
“There’s power up in the sky,
A new machine I want to fly.”

Leave a Reply

